AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Bot planning

Hello,

I am in the process of writing a bot using the chatscript engine. I am at the very beginning. I started playing around with it but I am not much beyond the hello world level.I have a general outline of what I want the bot to do but beyond this, not much.

we cannot make a rule for every single taught,action that a human can have so what do you guys do to limit the amounts of rule that you have to write?

I plan to:

1-try to anticipate the answers a user might have to a question
(How do I do X…. Reply: You do Y—- in addition you might need Z, here is a helpful link)
2-try to keep control of the conversation by
    a)asking lots of leading questions, having a “script”/process for the user to follow.
    b)being rude (in the sense of politely centering on the bot’s own experiences instead of diverging into territory where it doesn’t know anything)
3-If possible, rely on the element of surprise and the fact we as a courtesy assume the other chatter is a sane human being.

Do you prefer to start with a small core of rules, throw it against naive users and then add and tweak until you are satisfied?
Or do you already have a system/procedure in place so that if you were to start from scratch, it cuts down on some of the early testing?

Do you prefer to review each log individually, at least in the beginning, or just let it run its course until it reaches a few dozens (or hundreds) logs before making modifications?

Of course, I don’t want to repeat other’s mistakes/reinvent the wheel , so if you would start again from the beginning, what would you have done differently?

Thanks

[ # 1 ]