AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Coding for Grammar: Switching “person”

One of the “technical issues” that I’m having with Morti right now is his inability to properly change his responses to correctly reflect which “person” he should be using. Unfortunately, I’m NOT an expert when it comes to this, as far as the actual “listing” of possible changes in person are concerned. What I’m asking here is for those who have a firmer grasp of this aspect of proper English grammar to look over what I already have, and tell me if I’m missing something. smile

Below is a table of “pronoun swaps” that I’ve come up with, showing the input word, the output word, and the type of conversion uesd (first to second, second to first, first to third):

Pronoun swapping:

from      to         conversion
"I was"   "you were"  1>2
myself    
yourself      1>2

you           
me            2>1
"you are"   "I am"       2>1
"you were" "I was"      2>1
yourself     
myself       2>1

I            
he             1>(male)
I            she            1>(female)
I            they           1>(undefined)
"I am"    "he is"        1>(male)
"I am"    "she is"       1>(female)
"I am"    "they are"   1>(undefined)
myself    himself       1>(male)
myself    herself       1>(female)
myself    theirself     1>(undefined) - poor grammarbut better than what was currently being used

(I use “they”, rather than “it”, because we’re referring to people here, and not furniture)

Please note that the above isn’t what’s currently used for Morti. I’m trying to create a better, more efficient/correct function than what’s presently being used. Also, in the conversion from one “person” to another, can anyone tell me of any other actions besides switching pronouns that may need to be addressed? Thanks in advance for your input. smile

[ # 1 ]

also:
my <-> your

[ # 2 ]