AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Sample problem for AI reasoning

Please bear with me folks. This is my first attempt at a major split of threads here. What follows here is a discussion about Victor’s electronics example for GRACE, taken from This Thread:

If anything seems out of place, or if I missed anything, please refer to that thread, and then let me know. smile

[ # 1 ]
Merlin - Feb 4, 2011:

(If Skynet-AI can solve a math problem would you say it “understands” and “reasons” about it?).

Probably not.  It depends how flexible it is, I’d have to test it smile

Here is a good example of what I would consider truly understanding and reasoning via NLP.  It is an electronics problem.

user: R1 and R2 are connected in parallel.
user: The voltage across R1 is 100 volts.
user: The resistance of R2 is 25 ohms.
user: What is the current through the resister that is in parallel with R1?

AI : 4 amperes

So you have natural language understanding, correlation of facts, and deduction of the answer.  The system had to simplify “the resister that is in parallel with R1” to mean “R2” (since we only said one resistor was in parallel with it), then deduce that, since R1 and R2 in parallel, R1’s voltage = R2’s voltage = 100 volts, and then lookup of the values, and then the actual simple math (ohms law (for simple DC) : current = voltage divided by resistance).

[ # 2 ]

@Gary

Gary Dubuque - Feb 5, 2011:

So Victor, when you say you want the bot to understand, do you want it to reiterate what you told it or do you want the bot to paraphrase in its own words from what it knows concerning what you told it? I’m guessing the latter is what Has is wanting to attempt.

paraphrase in its own words, I can do this now.

by understand I mean: