AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

RiveScript in Java

Hello,

I recently started learning RiveScript to program a chatbot for a project in school. Since I have no experience with Perl, I want to use the Java libraries that are listed on the rivescript website. I’m quite fluent in Java and know how to integrate libs, but I have no idea how I can use my RiveScript code e.g. in Eclipse.
I already started to create the brain of my bot and wrote a few files in RiveScript, using the Tutorial on the website.
I know how to execute the RSBot which comes shipped with the java libraries, but I don’t know how to create an Interpreter in java.

If anyone knows a good Tutorial or is able to explain it to me himself, I would be really glad.

Thanks in advance

[ # 1 ]

there are javascript libraries and they have a demo shell.js - its probably the simplest way to get going and learning JS is not a bad thing in this age…

[ # 2 ]

I’m not a very strong Java developer (though I wrote RiveScript-Java), and I don’t know much about Eclipse, but the source of RSBot.java might help?

I’d just make sure the com/rivescript/ package is on my classpath somewhere, and use its API from my own Java code in a way similar to RSBot.java, like

import com.rivescript.RiveScript;

public class 
MyRobot {

public static void main (String[] args{

// Create a new RiveScript interpreter.

RiveScript rs = new RiveScript();

// Load and sort replies

rs.loadDirectory("./Aiden");

rs.sortReplies();

// Get a reply from the bot.

String reply rs.reply("user""hello bot");

System.out.println("Bot: " reply);

}