AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

New to Chatbots / Where shall I begin?

Hello everyone!

Firstly, it’s great to be here! As my title states; I am new to chatbots - though I can say that I have encountered them online, but not in a interest level. At any rate, I am now ready to seek this whole world of chatbots - as I believe they are the future.
In short, I am interested in producing a chatbot, with voice recognition or with out - does not matter. However, I want to learn this process accurately and systematically. Can any body point me into a direction where to start as far as, perhaps links to free available softwares that have these capabilities? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance! I will be looking forward to your responses.

Best,
L.Montenegro

[ # 1 ]

Hello Luis, and welcome. 

Before I give you my feedback, my first fundamental question is:  What type of functionality and what purpose do you want to use your bot for?

For example, are you seeking a bot that will help a user find their way around a website?  Current, well known algorithms can handle this.  Or do you wish to develop a bot that can take natural language statements and store them in a database, a kind of natural language search engine.  If this is the case, you’re a very serious bot developer, and you will want to either develop your own algorithms or perhaps combine some existing ones, but with your own ‘twist’.

Or perhaps you are aiming at submitting your entry into the Loebner prize.

Also, 2 other questions before I give my recommendations:

1) How much time, approximate per week can you devote to this project, and for what duration, a few months, years (or like me, decades lol)