AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

A newbie with a lot of big ideas…

Hi.

I am a computer programmer, good with PHP and Javascript, i also use CSharp (average proficiency).

I want to develop a personal assistant for my computer, here’s my definition of personal assistant:

1. accepts voice command
2. as voice recognition so it only accepts sensitive commands from a particular person
3. is able to perform some things on the computer, like open a document, open a video, make a search on the computer and on the web, open a specific website etc
4. starts up as soon as i turn my computer on
5. able to interact and have a decent conversation.

Yeah, well… i understand i’m probably trying to do too much… but here’s how far have gone:

1. downloaded chatscript
2. set it up according to the quick start that includes extending HARRY
3. Read and Reading the documentation (which by the way is a full time job… smile)
4. Got some helpful documents or quick references
5. Created a test topic etc

My major challenge, or if i have a scale of preference, it will be in this order:

1. Change the voice from male to female (i named my computer clara - which is obviously female)
2. Accept voice command and recognize voice
3. get the software to launch on startup
4. how to make it perform certain operations like open documents, search (as i stated above)

i’m not sure if these questions have been asked before.

Hoping to get answers here.

Thank you all.

[ # 1 ]

1. You’ll have to do some Googling to find out where to download and install female voices for Windows’s built-in narrator. They do exist and are typically free, or may already be installed on your computer and all you need to do is change the default voice in the Windows configuration menu / control panel.