AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

preventing chatbot from being blocked by AIM, Gtalk, etc

Hi all. I’m trying to create a chatbot that would interact on AOL Instant messenger.

My issue is that i don’t want to create a chabot, have it added to buddy list by many people, only to have AOL block it. Does anyone have experience interacting with AOL on chatbots? I know there’ve been some that had hundreds of members.  Do they officially register with AOL as a chabot? How do you prevent from potential blockage by the service? Anyone knows what thier policies are in that regard? Has anyone tried to ‘register’ thier chatbot with AOL AIM? With any other service? Yahoo messenger? Gtalk? etc?

Thanks! any input appreciated.

Erwin, any thoughts?

[ # 1 ]

I’m afraid I have little experience along these lines, but I wonder… Have you tried contacting AOL with your question? What about looking into their Terms of Service agreement? You could also perhaps contact the other companies with the same questions, I’m sure. Or, someone here may have direct experience with this, and could share their insights.

[ # 2 ]

I can’t find it anymore in AIM’s help system, but for a while AOL had official support for chatbots.

What you’d do is register a screen name for your bot as normal, and then there was a setting you could toggle in that account’s settings on the AIM website, where you say “This screen name is for a bot, not a human” and in that way, you’d register the bot with AOL.

A bot screen name had some special privileges and limitations compared to a regular account, such as:

* They have no rate limit for sending messages, so they can chat with tons of people simultaneously without needing to throttle itself.