AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Naïve question

Hello,

I’m new to ChatScript.

I downloaded version 9 to a Windows 10 - 64bit laptop and extracted the contents.

As documented I doubled clicked on chatscript.exe in BINARIES but the conversation was strange :
—————————————-
Enter user name: michel

TES: Gambit1
michel: > Hey !
TEST: Gambit1
michel: tell me
TEST: Gambit1
michel: >
—————————————-

- is that normal ? Looks like a test bot ? How should I start talking with the default bot ?

Thanks in advance for your help,
-michel

[ # 1 ]

Yes, I must have uploaded a testbed bot. Just type into it :build harry

[ # 2 ]

Thank you Bruce.

My default bot now has voice in, which is a problem as my default french laptop’s voice speaks english with a french accent ...

Is it possible to remove voice from that default bot ? Some param or recompile needed ?

Kind regards from a newbie,
-michel

[ # 3 ]

2 ways. you can remove the code in simplecontrol.top for the entire xpostprocess topic at the end

Or in the botmacro add
$SHUTUP = 1

[ # 4 ]

Also, if you do want voice, you can customise the language and voice of your bot using the web speech API in JavaScript.

This would be helpful boiler plate for you which you can use to customise the one in the Chatscript WEBINTERFACE/SPEECH/speech.php file which I presume you are using:

// TTS code taken and modified from here:
// http://stephenwalther.com/archive/2015/01/05/using-html5-speech-recognition-and-text-to-speech
//---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// say a message
function speak(textcallback{

var = new SpeechSynthesisUtterance();

u.text text;

u.lang 'fr-FR';

// u.lang = 'en-US';
    //u.lang = 'en-GB';

u.voice 4;   // 3 = american female  0 worse female 1 = not best femal

u.rate 1.0// .85

u.pitch .9;